170628 Nettsiden

OAT invites architects to write letters to the mayor

This summer, around 100 architects and urban planners are invited to write a personal letter to Oslo's Mayor, expressing their wishes and visions for the city's future. The initiative is part of the project Letters to the Mayor, initiated by Storefront for Art and Architecture in New York and previously presented in several major cities around the world.

The Oslo Architecture Triennale (OAT) in collaboration with Storefront, will organize and present the project in Oslo during the autumn of 2017. The purpose is to create a forum for dialogue as a means of bringing innovative ideas and visions of the city closer to the decision-makers, and vice versa.

The architects’ letters will be exhibited at DOGA. On September 26th, Oslo's Mayor, Marianne Borgen will participate in the opening event.

During the exhibition period, OAT, in collaboration with the Oslo Architectural Association (OAF) and Oslo’s Planning and Building Agency (PBE), will host two open debates based on the content of the letters. Architects, politicians, residents, and other agents concerned with Oslo's built environment will be invited to partake.

Letters to the Mayor: Oslo is part of an ongoing and collaborative process of developing a new architecture policy for the city of Oslo.

The project invites architects, urban planners, and landscape architects mainly from Oslo, but also from the rest of Norway and abroad, to participate. The invitees represent a variety of ages, backgrounds, and occupations, from representatives of architectural offices, public administration, property development firms, and the education sector.